2017 Scholarship Program

The American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC)  Tennessee is proud to be a part of the national scholarship program set up by ACEC. It is another example of how ACEC and ACEC Tennessee are committed to education and the future of the engineering profession.

The 2017 ACEC TN Scholarship winners were Kelli Grissom, a Civil Engineering student at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, and Zachary Jerome, a Civil Engineering and Viola Performance student at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville. 

To qualify, a student must be a U.S. citizen pursuing a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in an engineering or land surveying program in Tennessee in a department that has at least one ABET-accredited program.  Students must be entering their junior, senior, fifth, or graduate year in the fall of 2016 to qualify.  Candidates for the CASE scholarship (a national scholarship) must be enrolled in a Master’s degree program for Structural Engineering in the 2015 fall semester.  Graduate students must submit both undergraduate and graduate transcripts.

A student’s interest and commitment to the business and management of the profession are factors that will be considered and students are encouraged to reflect that throughout the application.  Students are also encouraged to be as complete as possible while filling out the application.

The deadline for submitting an application to ACEC Tennessee is January 20, 2017.   Incomplete applications will not be considered.

The national scholarship winners will be announced by ACEC in October 2017.  ACEC Tennessee will announce its scholarship winners in February 2017.  ACEC (national) will award several scholarships (totaling $20,000), the Council of Structural Engineers of ACEC will award a $5,000 scholarship to a structural engineering student, and ACEC Tennessee will award up to two $1,000 scholarships.
The 2018 ACEC Scholarship application will be posted this fall.


Tennessee Engineering Foundation 2017  Scholarships 

Claire Barnett, PE, President of the Tennessee Engineering Foundation, announced the 2017 Tennessee Engineering Foundation (TEF) scholarships will be awarded to four students.  Zachary Jerome from Knoxville, TN, who is a sophomore in Civil Engineering and Viola Performance at The University of Tennessee at Knoxville, won the $4,000 Dorothy and Arthur Crouch Memorial Scholarship.  TEF scholarships of $3,500 each were awarded to: Lucas Bromenschenkel from Gardnerville, NV, who is a junior in Mechanical Engineering at Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN; Tiana Lynn from Bixby, OK who is a sophomore in Civil Engineering at Lipscomb University; and Cooper Thome from Beechgrove, TN, who is a junior in Chemical Engineering at The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

The TEF was established by a group of engineering organizations to advance and support the engineering profession in the State of Tennessee.  TEF raises funds for scholarships and other kindergarten -12th grade science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education support activities such as MATHCOUNTS.  The TEF is headquartered at the Tennessee Engineering Center, 800 Fort Negley Blvd., Nashville, TN, 37203.

Information and application for the 2018 Scholarships will be posted in the Fall of 2017.